1 CD £11.00


Select destination then

Readers of Poems — (HS) Helena Shire and (JA) Jack Aitken.

Singers — (items 5 and 6) Margaret Fraser accompanied by Kenneth Elliot,
(items 7 and 8) The Saltire Singers: Margaret Fraser soprano, Constance Mullay alto, Duncan Robertson tenor, Frederick Westcott baritone, conducted by Hans Oppenheim (recording by arrangement with Helena M Shire).

1 Start of commentary written and read by Helena M Shire. The commentary continues throughout the recording and is intended to be listened to in its entirety. Individual readings and songs are to be found at the following track numbers. c1:36

2 Hay nou the day dauis (HS) 1:45 +c3:39

3 Whill as with whyte and nimble hand (HS) 0:46 +c2:02

4 A bonny No, with smyling looks agane

(Ung doux nenny avec un doux sourire) ( HS) 1:23 +c0:33

5 What mightie motione so my mynd mischeivis 3:52 +c3:39

6 Before the Greeks durst enterpryse 2:10 +c1:02

7 Adeu O Desie of delyt 3:02 +c0:51

8 In throu the windoes of myn ees 2:20 +c5:17

9 Extracts: The Flyting between Montgomerie and Polwart. The Secund Invective: Montgomeryes Answeir (concerning the birth and breeding of Polwart). (JA) 11:08 +c3:47

10 Extracts: The Cherry and the Slae (JA) 13:17 +c0:17

11 Blind Brutal Boy that with thy bou abuses. (Aganist the God of Love ) (HS) 0:53 +c1:30

12 Ressave this harte whois Constancie wes sik ("A lang Guidnicht") (HS) 2:49 +c3:39

The publisher acknowledges the financial assistance of the Scottish Arts Council in the production of the original cassette.